The three neuroanatomical divisions of the cerebellum are the (1) flocculonodular node, (2) anterior, and  (3) posterior lobes, which are illustrated above.  Phylogenetically, the cerebellum may also be divided into the archicerebellum, paleocerebellum, and neocerebellum, respectively, terms that more clearly reflect the method of dividing the lobes by their evolutionary age.  The archicerebellum represents the oldest evolutionary structure in the cerebellum, and the neocerebellum represents the most recently evolved region.  These divisions are divided from the anterior to the posterior; starting with the flocculonodular lobe, and ending with the posterior lobe.  The anterior and posterior lobes are separated by the primary fissure.  The posterior and flocculonodular lobes are separated by the posterolateral fissure.


The archicerebellum (also known as the vestibulocerebellum) is located in the flocculonodular lobe (composed of the flocculus and nodulus, a long cylindrical lobe arching over the fourth ventricle).